FoodAndDrink

Today I sit alone in my bachelorette apartment with a cold, trusted bottle of Drostdy-Hof Adelpracht wine, contemplating life. And by life I mean the borderline pretentious love of expensive, bitter, dehydrating wine.

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve had to defend my love of ‘cheap, bad’ wine to friends who twirl their wine glasses and spew flavor and taste buzz words they found on the internet in the name of being a wine connoisseur. I can’t express how frustrating it is to defend my love of wine against the ‘you can’t love wine if the wine you love is not dry red’ brigade. I equally can’t tell you how many times I’ve had to reassure people that even when I become the wealthy woman I know I’ll become, my wine cellar will be full of wine that costs nothing more than R100 (apprx. $10) a bottle.

This is why.

Taste buds differ, thank goodness, and the few times I’ve taken a sip of dry red wine in particular, my taste buds revolt and question whether or not I love them. Dry red, perhaps in accordance with its name, dries my entire mouth and leaves me quenching for a glass of good old fashioned water.

I also don’t see why I need to spend what I consider a ridiculous amount of money for wine that doesn’t taste good for me. In South Africa, my favorite wine (namely sweet Robertson’s and Drostdy-Hof) cost less than a third of the more expensive, “good wines” but tastes twice as good and is twice as refreshing. Why then would I stretch my wallet further than it needs to go?

AND WHAT IS IT WITH ASSIGNING SPECIFIC WINES TO SPECIFIC DISHES?

I promise you, if your dish tastes good, the wine you like will tastes just as good beside it.

Am I right or am I right?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

